The Fales Homestead is one of the earliest houses in Thomaston, and one of the last remaining 18th-century houses in the town. Likely built in 1786, the home was occupied by the Fales family until the mid-19th century. By the early 20th century, the home was owned by the Fernald sisters, who resided there for more than 70 years. (The home also has been known as the Fernald House.)
Despite several changes in appearance over the last two centuries, the home remains an excellent example of a Colonial low-posted Cape, with its central chimney, fireplace, and its steep roof. The home also showcases an innovative use of graduated clapboards; narrow at the bottom and increasing in width as the boards march to the roofline. These graduated clapboards were intended to help to decrease exposure to harsh Maine winters.
The Fales Homestead has been vacant since the passing of its last in-state owner in 2007. The house now suffers from extensive deferred maintenance. Without intervention, the house may become damaged beyond repair and succumb to the elements, as the formerly attached shed and barn already have.
The Fales Homestead has withstood over 233 years of Maine winters. The property could last for generations to come if prompt care is provided. Maine Preservation hopes to work with the current owner of the house and the community to transition the property to a new steward who can ensure that the Fales Homestead is both restored and maintained.